top of page

10 tips to combat writer's block

These are all the tips for overcoming writer's block that worked for me.

1. Changing Location: For me, it has always worked. I usually write in the drawing room of our house but when I get stuck and can't think of what to do next I change surroundings such as going on the terrace, the garden or my bedroom.

2. Research: You are more likely to write easily when you have all the information at your fingertips.

3. Reading books related to the genre I'm writing on: For example, I have been working on a mystery thriller novel for quite a while now and it explains why I have John Grisham's books in my library and other crime fics loaded in as well.

4. Sketching: Art is my hobby and it helps me to calm down and blow off some steam. When I'm stuck at some scene I draw whatever image catches my eye on the internet or I draw some of my favorite characters and it relaxes me a lot. It sometimes also gives the inspiration I need.

5. Reread what I have written while drinking coffee/tea: I do this all the time. I love going through my writing journals with a cup of coffee to keep my brain awake.

6. Writing chapters that come after the part I'm stuck on: I have usually written the endings for all my books. And it helps in a way because a destination is set out for me and all I have to do is move towards it step by step.

7. Questioning myself about stuff I'm writing continuously and consistently: Sometimes questioning yourself can provide you with all the answers you need.

8. Starting another work in the meanwhile and leaving the story at rest temporarily: That's why I have 22 stories in my drafts and no time to work on them individually. So try this at your own risk.

9. Reading quotes and poetry on different topics: Very very helpful. Not only do these quotes trigger up my inspiration gears but they also serve as very good starting lines for book descriptions.

10. Digging my old writing materials and going through them: Sometimes it makes me cringe seeing my old work but sometimes it makes me proud of myself to see how far I have come. Also at times I figure out an abandoned paragraph or chapter which can get the stuck story back on track very well.

bottom of page